DNOWS Header

Image Map

Sunday, October 7, 2018

Jose Luis Larrosa Wins Perhentian Island Marathon Swim

Courtesy of Jose Luis Larrosa, Pulau, Perhentian Besar, Malaysia.

Yesterday, 37-year-old Jose Luis Larrosa of Spain won the Perhentian Island Marathon Swim, a 16 km circumnavigation swim held around Pulau, Perhentian Besar, Malaysia in 4 hours 7 minutes.

The event with 25 participants in the solo race, 10 two-person teams in the duo race, and 5 teams in the 4-person category is the second-to-last race on the 2018 Malaysia Open Water Swimming Series.

Larrosa said after the race, "I couldn't enjoy more this event with friends, workmates and swimmates. I want to extend my congratulations to all the swimmers in the solo division, duo division, relay teams and in the 4 km race.

It was a perfect event

2018 Malaysia Open Water Swimming Series
* Port Dickson Open Water Swimming I: 200m, 800m, 2000m, 2000m relay in February
* Kelab Tasik Putrajaya MOWS Challenge: 300m kids, 1900m, 3800m in May
* Port Dickson Open Water Swimming II: 250m kids, 800m, 1500m, 3000m in July
* Bukit Merah Lake: 200m kids, 1500m, 3000m in August
* Perhentian Island Marathon Swim: 4 km solo, 16 km solo, duo and team in October
* Putrajaya Swimfest - Finale: 300m kids, 1000m, 2000m, 4000m, 8000m on November 5th

Perhentian Island Marathon Swim Results:
1. Jose Luis Larrosa Charro4 hours 7 minutes 20.26 seconds
2. Jessie Wong Toh Shing 4 hours 51 minutes 25.49 seconds [first woman]
3. Stijn Paul Agaytant 4 hours 55 minutes 22.88 seconds
4. Barbara Pirstinger 4 hours 55 minutes 35.07 seconds [second female]
5. Raquel Gomez Zapater 5 hours 2 minutes 28.48 seconds [third woman]
6. Ana Villaneuva Penacoba 5 hours 9 minutes 28.84 seconds [fourth woman]
7. Stephen James Jestico 5 hours 29 minutes 28.37 seconds
8. Nicholas William Froy 5 hours 32 minutes 54.33 seconds
9. Alessandra Rossi Cima 5 hours 35 minutes 42.98 seconds [fifth woman]
10. Oliver Worsley 5 hours 38 minutes 26.30 seconds
11. Charin Cheungsirakulvit 5 hours 42 minutes 56.06
12. Derek Bulstrode 5 hours 59 minutes 23.02 seconds
13. Claire Elizabeth Parsons 6 hours 3 minutes 9.31 seconds [sixth woman]
14. Tee Hui Sheng 6 hours 32 minutes 20.04 seconds
15. Minseog Yang 6 hours 37 minutes 24.64 seconds
16. Mohammed Sofia Ismail 6 hours 41 minutes 56.67 seconds
17. Emily Huelsermann 6 hours 42 minutes 10.95 seconds [seventh woman]
DNF Katrin Buchta
DNF Angelia Ong Su Lin
DNF Inoue Motohiro
DNF Soh Tuck Chuen Bernard
DNF Norman Seah Yen Kang
DNF Tang Siew Kwan
DNF Thong Kok Leong

For more information, visit here.

Copyright © 2008-2018 by World Open Water Swimming Association

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you very much for your interest in the world of open water swimming.

World Open Water Swimming Association

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program