DNOWS Header

Image Map

Saturday, March 17, 2018

Dutch Duo Dominate In Doha

Courtesy of FINA, Doha, Qatar.

The Dutch duo of Sharon van Rouwendaal and Ferry Weertman [shown above] won the first stop on the FINA/HOSA Marathon Swim World Series in 2 hours 2 minutes 24.4 seconds and 1 hour 52 minues 41.6 seconds respectively.

The 2016 Olympic champions from the Netherlands kicked off their 2018 open water swimming campaign with powerful performances over a field of global stars from 24 countries in Doha, Qatar.

Van Rouwendaal sprinted home over Germany’s Leonie Beck by 0.8 seconds with German teammate Finnia Wunram closely behind in 1.5 seconds later.

Italy had four teammates in the top four, led by Olympic pool swimmer Martina De Memme in fifth. While long-time veteran Angela Maurer finished 22nd at the age of 42, only 49 seconds behind the winner.

On the men's side, Ferry Weertman finished first in 0.9 seconds over France’s David Aubry with Italy’s Simone Ruffini coming in 0.2 seconds later. It was clear that Weertman fully intends to continue his winning ways in this quadrennial after his 2016 Olympic victory and 2017 world championship victory.

"It is going to be very difficult to beat Ferry down the finish this year and in the foreseeable future," predicted Steven Munatones. "His pool swimming times this past winter point to his flat-out speed. Combined with his stamina, strength and savvy, his speed enables him to stand on top of the podium after every race he focuses on. With his 1:46.52 in the 200m freestyle, 3:44.38 in the 400m freestyle, and 15:06.31 in the 1500m freestyle at the Dutch national championships last December, Feery is ready to show off his talents throughout this coming summer."

In a nod to other swimmers to watch during the 2020 Tokyo Olympics quadrennial, Italy's Gregorio Paltrinieri 1500m specialist finished fifth while Japan's Yasunari Hirai was the only non Dutch-German-Italian-French man to finish in the top 10.

Official Women's Results:
1. Sharon van Rouwendaal (Netherlands) 2:02:24.40
2. Finnia Wunram (Germany) 2:02:26.70
4. Martina de Memme (Italy) 2:02:26.90
6. Arianna Bridi (Italy) 2:02:28.30
8. Oceane Maryse Jeannie Cassignol (France) 2:02:30.80
9. Giulia Gabbrielleschi (Italy) 2:02:32.00
11. Lara Grangeon (France) 2:02:34.10
13. Alice Dearing (Great Britain) 2:02:34.80
15, Adeline Furst (France) 2:02:58.70
16. Lisa Lydie Madeleine Pou (France) 2:03:02.00
17. Esmee Vermeulen (Netherlands) 2:03:07.60
19. Viviane Jungblut (Brazil) 2:03:09.30
21. Angela Maurer (Germany) 2:03:13.50
23. Lea Boy (Germany) 2:03:21.80
24. Kalliopi Araouzou (Greece) 2:03:29.20
26. Stephanie Horner (Canada) 2:03:46.50
28. Jeannette Spiworks (Germany) 2:03:56.50
30. Xin Xin (China) 2:04:01.50
32. Souad Nefissa Cherouati (Algeria) 2:06:50.70
34. Eva Bonnet (Belgium) 2:10:06.70
36. Phoebe Louise Griffiths (Great Britain) 2:12:49.80
38. Ilona Michele Lourdes Maille (France) 2:14:07.80
39. Claire Georgina Anne-Marie Six (France) 2:14:11.80
DSQ Shan Lei (China)

Official Men's Results:
1. Ferry Weertman (Netherlands) 1:52:41.60
2. David Aubry (France) 1:52:42.50
3. Simone Ruffini (Italy) 1:52:42.70
4. Axel Reymond (France) 1:52:43.00
5. Gregorio Paltrinieri (Italy) 1:52:43.10
6. Matteo Furlan (Italy) 1:52:44.00
7. Rob Frederik Muffels (Germany) 1:52:47.00
9. Logan Fontaine (France) 1:52:48.90
10. Christian Reichert (Germany) 1:53:07.80
12. Victor Johansson (Sweden) 1:53:08.60
14. Tobias Patrick Robinson (Great Britain) 1:53:10.10
16. Alberto Martinez Murcia (Spain) 1:53:10.90
18. Mario Sanzullo (Italy) 1:53:12.00
20. Aubin Louis Coccordano (France) 1:53:14.00
22. Pepijn Smits (Netherlands) 1:53:15.30
24. Allan do Carmo (Brazil) 1:53:18.70
26. Marcel Schouten (Netherlands) 1:53:20.40
28. Fernando Ponte (Brazil) 1:53:24.30
30. Clement Raymond Daniel Batte (France) 1:53:25.80
31. Alexis Leon Lucien Vandevelde (France) 1:53:25.80
32, Enzo Alexandre Pascal Roldan Munoz (France) 1:53:26.00
33. Nicolas Masse-Savard (Canada) 1:53:28.50
35. Bailey Armstrong (Australia) 1:53:33.60
37. Jean-Baptiste Yann Hubert Clusman (France) 1:55:17.10
39. Naim Mokhfi (France) 1:55:21.50
41. Hugo Frederic Emmanuel Saillard (France) 1:55:25.60
43. Kaito Watanuki (Japan) 1:55:28.40
45. Baptiste Alexandre Colmant (France) 1:55:29.00
46. Hau-Li Fan (Canada) 1:55:29.70
48. Clement Jean Gerard Kukla (France) 1:55:31.00
49. Shuyi Liu (China) 1:55:49.50
51. Pablo le Corre (France) 1:56:08.10
53. Nicholas Sloman (Australia) 1:56:28.10
55. Farid Zitouni (France) 1:56:38.30
57. Jules Laurent Wallart (France) 1:57:47.10
59. Eric Hedlin (Canada) 1:58:28.00
61. Yosuke Aoki (Japan) 1:58:43.80
63. Marin Remy Corneille Debril (France) 1:59:09.70
65. Aiman Al Qasmi (Oman) 2:08:14.30
67. Leo Jean-Charles Ammar Ouabdesselam (France) 2:09:49.20
68. Bertrand Payet (Seychelles)
DNF Damien Payet (Seychelles)

Copyright © 2008-2018 by World Open Water Swimming Association

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you very much for your interest in the world of open water swimming.

World Open Water Swimming Association

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program