DNOWS Header

Image Map

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Breakfast With Champions From Argentina

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

A unique opportunity is offered the open water swimming community this Saturday in Heladero Necochea, Argentina when Damián Blaum and four local winners in the 57 km Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fé – Coronda: Carlos Larriera, Diego Degano, Fernando Fleitas and Rafael Pérez gather together for a Breakfast of Champions on March 18th.

Larriera is an Honour Swimmer from Argentina who was inducted in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame in 1969. He won the first and second professional 35-mile Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fé - Coronda (then called the Maratón Fluvial del Litoral Argentino) down the Coronda river in Argentina in 8 hours in 1961 and in 11 hours 38 minutes in 1962.

Degano is another Honour Swimmer from Argentina who was inducted in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame in 1995. He won the Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe - Coronda in 1988, 1990, 1992 and 1993.

Fleitas won the race in 1991. Pérez won the race in 2003.

The historical winners include the following athletes:

1961 Carlos Larriera, Argentina
1962 Carlos Larriera, Argentina
1963 Herman Willemse, Netherlands
1964 Abdul Latif Abou Heif, Egypt
1965 Horacio Iglesias, Argentina
1966 Giuglio Travaglio, Italy
1967 Horacio Iglesias, Argentina
1970 Horacio Iglesias, Argentina
1974 Claudio Plit, Argentina
1975 Claudio Plit, Argentina
1976 Claudio Plit, Argentina
1977 Claudio Plit, Argentina
1978 John Kinsella, USA
1979 Bill Heiss, USA
1987 James Kegley, USA
1988 Diego Degano, Argentina
1990 Diego Degano, Argentina
1991 Fernando Fleitas, Argentina
1992 Diego Degano, Argentina
1993 Diego Degano, Argentina / Christof Wandratsch, Germany
1994 Gregory Streppel, Canada
1995 Gregory Streppel, Canada
1996 Stéphane Lecat, France / Gabriel Chaillou, Argentina
1997 Stéphane Lecat, France
1998 David Meca Medina, Spain
1999 Stéphane Lecat, France
2000 Stéphane Lecat, France
2001 David Meca Medina, Spain
2002 Gabriel Chaillou, Argentina
2003 Rafael Pérez, Argentina
2004 Stephane Gómez, France
2005 Stephane Gómez, France
2006 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2007 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2008 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2009 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2010 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2011 Petar Stoychev, Bulgaria
2012 Joanes Hedel, France
2013 Simone Ercoli, Italy
2014 Simone Ercoli, Italy
2017 Damián Blaum, Argentina

Copyright © 2008-2017 by World Open Water Swimming Association

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you very much for your interest in the world of open water swimming.

The Staff of the World Open Water Swimming Association

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program