DNOWS Header

Image Map

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Jose Luis Larrosa Sets Record At Tabarca Marathon Swim

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Jose Luis Larrosa broke the course record of American Lexie Kelly with his victorious swim at the 21 km Tabarca Marathon Swim (Maratón Acuático Tabarca-Alicante) between Tabarca Island and Alicante city off the Mediterranean coast in Spain.

51 swimmers started, 49 finished as 5 safety boats, 6 Jet Skiers, 54 kayakers, an ambulance and lifeguards stood watch over the field. "There were also nearly 600 spectators cheering from shore," said Larrosa who set a course record in 4 hours 38 minutes. "With 6 countries represented, there were swimmers from Argentina, France, Poland, Austria, Spain and Hungary. Clara Perez won the women's race in 6 hours 20 minutes while Alberto Pérez Díaz was second in 5 hours 5 minutes and Argentinian Fernando Espina Velaz was third in 5 hours 14 minutes."

Hosted by the Acanta Swimming Club, expectations are high for next year's edition with an even greater representation from international athletes.

For more information, visit www.tabarcamarathon.com.

Official Results:
1 Jose Luis Larrosa 4:48:22 (13:43 min/km)
2 Alberto Pérez Díaz 5:05:46 (14:33 min/km)
3 Fernando Espina Velaz 5:14:22 (14:58 min/km)
4 César Hernández 5:14:49 (14:59 min/km)
5 Miguel Angel Sánchez 5:27:34 (15:35 min/km)
6 Samuel Vidal Fernández 5:30:24 (15:44 min/km)
7 Attila Mányoki 5:36:02 (16:00 min/km)
8 Israel González Guillén 5:45:49 (16:28 min/km)
9 Jose Ignacio Amores Escribano 5:54:56 (16:54 min/km)
10 Sasa Savel 5:55:35 (16:55 min/km)
11 Carlos Rodríguez Faraldos 6:02:04 (17:14 min/km)
12 Eduardo Porset Llantada 6:02:52 (17:16 min/km)
13 Jose Ramón Sanz Ródenas 6:02:53 (17:16 min/km)
14 Victor González Juarez 6:06:16 (17:26 min/km)
15 Pascual Illán Bernal 6:08:39 (17:33 min/km)
16 Raúl Aureliano Pérez Martínez 6:11:01 (17:40 min/km)
17 Manuel Antonio Bernabé Pérez 6:13:39 (17:47 min/km)
18 Juan José Caselles López 6:14:37 (17:50 min/km)
19 Raúl Tomás 6:17:03 (17:57 min/km)
20 Clara Perez 6:20:33 (18:07 min/km)
21 Sergio Javier Larrosa Rodríguez 6:24:30 (18:18 min/km)
22 Vicente Martínez Martí 6:25:33 (18:21 min/km)
23 Jose Ramón Vives Bonete 6:29:46 (18:33 min/km)
24 Martí Colet 6:30:54 (18:36 min/km)
25 Daniel Santa Candela 6:32:31 (18:41 min/km)
26 Jorge Yagüe Andrés 6:33:31 (18:44 min/km)
27 Pedro Navarro Miguel 6:34:49 (18:48 min/km)
28 Manfred Spitzwieser 6:35:59 (18:51 min/km)
29 Vicent Climent Llobell 6:37:43 (18:56 min/km)
30 Antonio Pajuelo Lázaro 6:41:39 (19:07 min/km)
31 David Jose Pomares Agulló 6:43:21 (19:12 min/km)
32 David Abad Diaz 6:49:08 (19:28 min/km)
33 Vicente Esteve Lopez 6:49:09 (19:29 min/km)
34 Mario Cañizares Sánchez 6:56:42 (19:50 min/km)
35 Jesús Gómez Ramos 7:00:06 (20:00 min/km)
36 Ramses Gavidia Cámara 7:03:25 (20:09 min/km)
37 Selina Moreno Pasagali 7:03:27 (20:09 min/km)
38 Jose Luis Mascarell 7:04:22 (20:12 min/km)
39 Carlos Colomina Beneyto 7:04:23 (20:12 min/km)
40 Krysztof Gajewski 7:05:51 (20:16 min/km)
41 Salvador Martínez Puche 7:17:00 (20:48 min/km)
42 Javier Varó Climent 7:17:02 (20:48 min/km)
43 David Marimon Estrany 7:23:05 (21:05 min/km)
44 Carlos Martínez Murcia 7:25:14 (21:12 min/km)
45 Antonio Juan Marco 7:25:18 (21:12 min/km)
46 Eva María Veracruz Gálvez Álvez 7:25:19 (21:12 min/km)
47 Alvaro Nevado Fernández 7:25:27 (21:12 min/km)
48 Carlos Pomares Arias 7:25:40 (21:13 min/km)
49 Vicente Casterá Brugada 7:35:04 (21:40 min/km)

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you very much for your interest in the world of open water swimming.

The Staff of the World Open Water Swimming Association

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program