DNOWS Header

Image Map

Saturday, April 9, 2016

USA Swimming National Championships - 5 km Start List

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

After all kinds of excitement, confusion, protests, reversals, impeding non-calls in the finish chute, and close races on both the men's and women's races yesterday in Fort Myers, Florida, the 2016 USA Swimming National Open Water Swimming Championships will hold its 5 km race tomorrow.

The start list includes the following athletes:

1 Taylor Abbott (USA) won the 18U 10 km championship
2. Aaron Apel (USA)
3. Michael Brinegar (USA)
4. Anis Cheniti (France)
5. Taylor Delk (USA)
6. Robbie Dickson (USA)
7. Allan Do Carmo (Brazil) 2008 & 2016 Olympian
8. Brooks Fail (USA)
9. Arthur Frayler (USA)
10. Rafeal Gil (Portugal)
11. Carter Grimes (USA)
12. Lozano Gutierrez (Peru)
13. David Heron (USA)
14. Matthew Hillmer (USA)
15. Yasunari Hirai (Japan) 2012 Olympian
16. Jerad Kaskawal (USA)
17. Eliot Kennedy (USA)
18. Simon Lamar (USA)
19. Ben Lawless (USA)
20. Nicholas McDowell (USA)
21. Ous Mellouli (Tunisia) 3-time Olympic medalist
22. Alex Meyer (USA) 2012 Olympian
23. Riley Molina (USA)
24. Daniel O'Connor (USA)
25. Marc Antoine Olivier (France) 2016 Olympian
26. Thomas Ottman (USA)
27. Joey Pedraza (USA)
28. Chip Peterson (USA) 3-time world championship medalist
29. Jarrod Poort (Australia) 2012 Olympian
30. Ivan Puskovitch (USA)
31. Kane Radford (New Zealand)
32. Logan Redondo (USA)
33. Same Rice (USA)
34. Will Roberts (USA)
35. Colin Rockwell (USA)
36. Sean Ryan (USA) 2016 Olympian
37. Marcel Schouten (Netherlands) out with a dislocated shoulder
38. Steve Sholdra (USA)
39. T.C. Smith (USA)
40. Cameron Stitt (USA)
41. Ferry Weertman (Netherlands) 2016 Olympian
42. Richard Weinberger (Canada) 2012 & 2016 Olympian

1. Haley Anderson (USA) 2012 & 2016 Olympian
2. Jordan Anderson (USA)
3. Angelica Andre (Portugal)
4. Mary Margaret Banick (USA)
5. Brittney Beetcher (USA)
6. Sarah Bosslet (Germany)
7. Emily Brunemann (USA) FINA 10K Marathon Swimming World Cup champion
8. Rachele Bruni (Italy) 2016 Olympian
9. Ana Marcela Cunha (Brazil) 2008 & 2016 Olympian
10. Caitlin Daday (USA)
11. Chenoa Devine (USA)
12. Jade Dusablon (Canada)
13. Eva Fabian (USA) world championship medalist
14. Joy Magnolia Field (USA)
15. Casey Francis (USA)
16. Heidi George (USA)
17. Samantha Harding (Canada)
18. Stephanie Horner (Canada)
19. Hailey Houck (USA)
20. Yumi Kida (Japan) 2012 Olympian
21. Reese Lamph (USA)
22. Alicia Mancilla (USA)
23. Kensey McMahon (USA)
24. Sabrina Mortell (USA)
25. Aurélie Muller (France) 2008 & 2016 Olympian, 2015 world champion
26. Poliana Okimoto (Brazil) 2008, 2012, 2016 Olympian
27. Stephanie Peacock (USA)
28. Hayley Pike (USA)
29. Taylor Pike (USA)
30. Ana Pozder (USA)
31. Cathryn Salladin (USA)
32. Erica Sullivan (USA)
33. Ashley Twichell (USA) world championship medalist, multi-national champion
34. Sharon Van Rouwendaal (Netherlands) 2016 Olympian
35. Natalie Ward (USA)
36. Kat Wickham (USA)
37. Kahra Williams (USA)
38. Caitlyn Wilson (USA)
Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program