DNOWS Header

Image Map

Sunday, September 13, 2015

The Internationalization Of Open Water Swimming

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

The photo of Yasunari Hirai (silver medal from Japan), Allan Do Carmo (gold medal from Brazil) and Richard Weinberger (bronze medal from Canada) is illustrative of the internationalization of open water swimming.

Over the first three Olympic Games in the 10K marathon swim (2008 in Beijing, 2012 in London, and the 2016 qualifiers for Rio de Janeiro), competitors came from all over the world, representing a total of 40 countries:

1 Russia (6 swimmers/7 appearances/1 medal): Evgeny Drattsev (2008), Vladimir Dyatchin (2008 + 2012), Larisa Ilchenko (2008 gold), Anna Guseva (2012), Sergey Bolshakov (2012), Anastasiia Krapivina (2016)
2 U.S.A. (6 swimmers/7 appearances/1 medal): Mark Warkentin (2008), Chloe Sutton (2008), Haley Anderson (2012 silver + 2016), Alex Meyer (2012), Jordan Wilimovsky (2016), Sean Ryan (2016)
3 Great Britain (5 swimmers/6 appearances/2 medals): David Davies (2008 silver), Keri-Anne Payne (2008 silver + 2012), Cassandra Patten (2008 bronze), Daniel Fogg (2012), Jack Burnell (2016)
4 Italy (5 swimmers/7 appearances/1 medal): Valerio Cleri (2008 + 2012), Martina Grimaldi (2008 + 2012 bronze), Rachele Bruni (2016), Simone Ruffini (2016), Federico Vanelli (2016)
5 France (5 swimmers/6 appearances): Gilles Rondy (2008), Ophelie Aspord (2012), Julien Sauvage (2012), Aurélie Muller (2008 + 2016), Marc-Antoine Daniel Frede Olivier (2016)
6 Germany (4 swimmers/2 medal): Thomas Lurz (2008 bronze + 2012 silver), Angela Maurer (2008 + 2012), Andreas Waschburger (2012), Isabelle Härle (2016)
7 Netherlands (4 swimmers/1 medal): Maarten van der Weijden (2008 gold), Edith van Dijk (2008), Sharon van Rouwendaal (2016), Ferry Weertman (2016)
8 South Africa (4 swimmers): Chad Ho (2008), Natalie du Toit (2008), Jessica Roux (2012), Troyden Prinsloo (2012)
9 Venezuela (4 swimmers): Erwin Leon Maldonado Savera (2008), Andreína Pinto (2008), Yanel Pinto (2012), Erwin Maldonado (2012)
10 Brazil (3 swimmers/7 appearances): Allan do Carmo (2008 + 2016), Ana Marcela Cunha (2008 + 2016), Poliana Okimoto (2008 + 2012 + 2016)
11 Greece (3 swimmers/6 appearances): Spyridon Gianniotis (2008 + 2012 + 2016), Marianna Lymperta (2008 + 2012), Kalliopi Araouzou (2016)
12 Spain (3 swimmers/4 appearances): Francisco Jose Hervas (2008 + 2012), Yurema Requena (2008), Erika Villaecija (2012)
13 Ukraine (3 swimmers/4 appearances): Igor Chervynskiy (2008 + 2012), Natalya Samorodina (2008), Olga Beresnyeva (2012)*
14 Mexico (3 swimmers): Luis Escobar (2008), Imelda Martínez (2008), Lizeth Rueda Santos (2012)
15 Argentina (3 swimmers): Damian Blaum (2008), Antonella Bogarin (2008), Cecilia Biagioli (2012)
16 Hungary (2 swimmers/4 appearances/1 medal): Csaba Gercsak (2008 + 2012), Éva Risztov (2012 gold + 2016)
17 Canada (2 swimmers/3 appearances/1 medal): Richard Weinberger (2012 bronze + 2016), Zsofia Balazs (2012)
18 Portugal (2 swimmers/3 appearances): Arseniy Lavrentyev (2008 + 2012), Daniela Inácio (2008)
19 Australia (2 swimmers/4 appearances): Ky Hurst (2008 + 2012), Melissa Gorman (2008 + 2012)
20 China (2 swimmers/3 appearances): Xin Tong (2008), Fang Yanqiao (2008 + 2012)
21 Czech Republic (2 swimmers/3 appearances): Rostislav Vitek (2008), Jana Pechanová (2008 + 2012)
22 Japan (2 swimmers): Yumi Kida (2012), Yasunari Hirai (2012)
23 Bulgaria (1 swimmer/2 appearances): Petar Stoychev (2008 + 2012)
24 Belgium (1 swimmer/2 appearances): Brian Ryckeman (2008 + 2012)
25 Switzerland (1 swimmer/2 appearances): Swann Oberson (2008 + 2012)
26 Tunisia (1 swimmer/1 medal): Oussama Mellouli (2012 gold)
27 Syria (1 swimmer): Saleh Mohammad (2008)
28 Egypt (1 swimmer): Mohamed Elzanaty (2008)
29 Slovenia (1 swimmer): Teja Zupan (2008)
30 Sweden (1 swimmer): Eva Berglund (2008)
31 Chile (1 swimmer): Kristel Köbrich (2008)
32 Croatia (1 swimmer): Karla Sitic (2012)
33 Poland (1 swimmer): Natalia Charlos (2012)
34 Malaysia (1 swimmer): Heidi Gan (2012)
35 Hong Kong (1 swimmer): Wing Yung Natasha Terri Tang (2012)
36 Ecuador (1 swimmer): Ivan Enderica Ochoa (2012)
37 Kazakhstan (1 swimmer): Yuriy Kudinov (2012)
38 Egypt (1 swimmer): Mazen Aziz Metwaly (2012)
40 Guam (1 swimmer): Benjamin Schulte (2012)

During their preparation for the Olympics, these swimmers have trained all over the world, many times outside their native country as they learn new languages, different cultures and different training methods. In the lead-up to the 2016 Olympic 10K marathon swim in Copacabana Beach for example, Japan's Yasunari Hirai will move from Australia to Thailand to follow his coach after he visits Arizona for high-altitude training and a few weeks of training with 2015 10 km world champion Jordan Wilimovsky in Santa Monica, California.

*Olga Beresnyeva finished seventh in the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim, but was later disciplined by the IOC after her drug test was found positive for the presence of recombinant erythropoietin (rEPO).

Copyright © 2015 by World Open Water Swimming Association

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you very much for your interest in the world of open water swimming.

The Staff of the World Open Water Swimming Association

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program