DNOWS Header

Image Map

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Golden Goggles...And The Nominees Are...

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

USA Swimming announced the nominees for its Golden Goggles Awards.

The nominees included the usual heroes and heroines of USA Swimming: Katie Ledecky, Missy Franklin, Michael Phelps, and Ryan Lochte who are nominated for the Golden Goggle Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards.

But the Big Four were also joined by open water swimmers Haley Anderson and Jordan Wilimovsky.

Ledecky and Phelps won the 2014 Athlete of the Year awards. Ledecky, Phelps, Lochte and Franklin have combined to win every Male and Female Athlete of the Year award since 2011. The last man other than Phelps or Lochte to win was Brendan Hansen in 2006.

Online Golden Goggles voting is available here through November 13th. A percentage of the online fan vote will count toward the final balloting. The Golden Goggle Awards are November 22nd in Los Angeles.

The full slate of nominees are below:

Breakout Performer of the Year
*Katie Meili: Pan American Games and Nationals champion in 100m breaststroke; ranked No. 3 in the world in 2015
*Jordan Wilimovsky: First career U.S. titles (open water 10 km, 1500m freestyle) and World title (open water 10 km) to make first Olympic team
*Kelsi Worrell: NCAA, Pan American Games and Nationals champion in 100 butterfly; ranked No. 3 in the world in 2015

Coach of the Year
*Bob Bowman: Star pupil Michael Phelps
*Bruce Gemmell: Star pupil Katie Ledecky
*Dave Kelsheimer: Star pupil Jordan Wilimovsky
*David Marsh: Star pupil Ryan Lochte
*Catherine Vogt: Star pupil Haley Anderson

Female Race of the Year (all World Championships finals)
*Haley Anderson’s open water 5 km: Gold by 1.4 seconds
*Katie Ledecky’s 200m free: Gold by 0.16 of a second in come-from-behind fashion
*Katie Ledecky’s 800m free: Gold in world-record time, lowering her mark by 3.61 seconds and winning by 10.26 seconds
*Katie Ledecky’s 1500m free: Gold in world-record time, lowering her mark by 2.33 seconds and winning by 14.66 seconds

Male Race of the Year
*Connor Jaeger’s Worlds 1500m freestyle: Silver in an American record time
*Ryan Lochte’s Worlds 200m individual medley: Gold for fourth straight World title
*Michael Phelps’ Nationals 100m butterfly: Fastest time in the world since 2009
*Michael Phelps’ Nationals 200m butterfly: Fastest time in the world since 2009
*Jordan Wilimovsky’s Worlds open water 10 km: Gold by 12.1 seconds

Female Athlete of the Year
*Haley Anderson: World champion, open water 5 km
*Missy Franklin: World silver medalist, 200m back. World bronze medalist, 200m free. Three Worlds relay medals
*Katie Ledecky: World champion, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m freestyles. One Worlds relay gold medal

Male Athlete of the Year
*Ryan Lochte — World champion, 200m individual medley, Three Worlds relay medals
*Michael Phelps — World’s fastest swimmer in 2015 in 100m, 200m butterfly
*Jordan Wilimovsky — World champion, open water 10 km

To vote, visit here.

Copyright © 2015 by World Open Water Swimming Association

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program