DNOWS Header

Image Map

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Trento Is Barraesquely Triumphant In 2012

Few individuals have had such as a busy or successful year as professional marathon swimming champion Trent "Trento" Grimsey.

His Barraesque schedule required hundreds of thousands of air miles from his native Queensland to participate in the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix events, ocean and invitational swims around the world as well as his record-setting swim across the English Channel.

Not only did the Australian star very comfortably win the overall FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix series with two gutsy wins at the 32 km Traversée Internationale du lac St-Jean and the 34 km Traversée Internationale du lac Memphrémagog in Canada, but he also broke the most iconic record in the open water swimming world with his 6 hour 55 minute English Channel crossing and the long-held Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli in Italy record in 6 hours 29 minutes.

The mantle has apparently been passed to the even-keeled, humble swimmer from one of the most active open water swimming families in the world.

Along the way, he also competed in marathon swims in the 18.5 km BCT Gdynia Marathon in Poland, the 57 km Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda in Argentina, and won the Oceanian Championships 10km in New Caledonia and a number of ocean swims in Australia and New Zealand. The relatively young man (24) has potentially at least another 2 Olympic quadrennials and then some. His upside is still tremendous given his age, deep passion for the sport, and his raw athleticism.

The final rankings of the 68 ultra-marathon professional swimmers from 22 countries in the 2012 FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix are here:

1. Trent Grimsey (AUS) 95 points in 5 races
2. Damián Blaum (ARG) 71 points in 7 races
3. Andrea Volpini (ITA) 45 points in 7 races
4. Evgenij Pop Acev (MKD) 45 points in 6 races
5. Edoardo Stochino (ITA) 37 points in 5 races
6. Guillermo Bertola (ARG) 27 points in 4 races
7. Anton Pilipas (RUS) 14 points in 4 races

Not included in the final rankings according to the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2010-2013 Rules and Regulations:

8. Luciano Sales Rubio (ARG) 36 points in 6 races
9. Petar Stoychev (BUL) 33 points in 2 races
10. Ivan Afanevich (RUS) 26 points in 3 races
11. Alexander Studzinski (GER) 23 points in 4 races
12. Thomas Lurz (GER) 20 points in 1 race
13. Libor Smolka (CZE) 20 points in 4 races
14. Tomi Stefanovski (MKD) 19 points in 2 races
15. Xavier Desharnais (CAN) 19 points in 1 race
16. Brian Ryckeman (BEL) 16 points in 1 race
17. Philippe Guerrtin (CAN) 16 points in 1 race
18. Julien Sauvage (FRA) 15 points in 1 race
19. Joanes Hedel (FRA) 15 points in 1 race
20. Andreas Waschburger (GER) 14 points in 1 race
21. Mohammad Saleh (SYR) 14 points in 4 races
22. Chris Bryan (IRL) 13 points in 3 races
23. Tsvetan Yordanov (BUL) 13 points in 3 races
24. Christian Reichert (GER) 12 points in 1 race
25. Ian Van Der Hulst (NED) 12 points in 2 races
26. Marin Milan (CRO) 12 points in 3 races
27. Romain Beraud (FRA) 11 points in 1 race
28. Michael Demitreiev (ISR) 10 points in 1 race
29. Paul Blias-Morisett (CAN) 8 points in 2 races
30. Pierre Pelletier (CAN) 8 points in 2 races
31. Duje Milan (CRO) 7 points in 1 race
32. Luis Escobar (MEX) 6 points in 1 race
33. Martín Carrizo (ARG) 6 points in 2 races
34. Dejan Maladenovski (MKD) 6 points in 2 races
35. Rodolfo Valenti (ITA) 4 points in 2 races
36. Benjamin Konschak (GER) 4 points in 1 race
37. Simon Covillard-Castonquay (CAN) 4 points in 1 race
38. Martin Miguel (ARG) 4 points in 1 race
39. AleksandAr Pancevski (MKD) 4 points in 2 races
40. Miro Krstevski (MKD) 4 points in 1 race
41. Sato Tiago (BRA) 4 points in 1 race
42. Jan Posmourny (CZE) 3 points in 1 race
43. Davy Billiau (BEL) 3 points in 1 race
44. Ivan Lopez (MEX) 3 points in 1 race
45. Matheus Evangelista (BRA) 3 points in 1 race
46. Daan Glorie (NED) 3 points in 1 race
47. Esteban Paz (ARG) 2 points in 1 race
48. Lucas Castro (ARG) 2 points in 1 race
49. Gabriel Villagoiz (ARG) 2 points in 1 race
50. Bertrand Venturi (FRA) 2 points in 1 race
51. Mattia Alberico (ITA) 2 points in 1 race
52. Jarne Woutermaertens (BEL) 2 points in 1 race
53. Michael Mruzek (CZE) 2 points in 1 race
54. Nikola Stupar (SRB) 2 points in 1 race
55. Michal Flora (CZE) 2 points in 1 race
56. Milorad Jaksic (SRB) 2 points in 1 race
57. Eslam Mohsen (EGY) 0 points in 1 race
58. Rotislav Vitek (CZE) 0 points in 1 race
59. Alessandro Rivellini (ITA) 0 points in 1 race
60. Andrea Bondanini (ITA) 0 points in 1 race
61. Tiago Sato (BRA) 0 points in 1 race
62. Milos Bozinovic (SRB) 0 points in 1 race
63. Nikola Tepavcevic (MNE) 0 points in 1 race
64. Gergely Kutasi (HUN) 0 points in 1 race
65. Igor Dimovski (MKD) 0 points in 1 race
66. Aleksandar Toromanoski (MKD) 0 points in 1 race
67. Danilo Paunovic (MKD) 0 points in 1 race
68. Aleksandar Illievski (MKD) 0 points in 1 race

Copyright © 2012 by World Open Water Swimming Association

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program