DNOWS Header

Image Map

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Dennis Miller Honored By The International Marathon Swimming Hall Of Fame

His legacy is set. As an administrator working behind the scenes, Dennis Miller rose in the FINA Family ranks to the highest echelon in aquatic administration: he became a FINA Bureau member while overseeing FINA's newest aquatic discipline, open water swimming.

As he worked on the details of integrating open water swimming into the FINA framework, Miller was instrumental in getting marathon swimming into the Olympics. He lobbied, he refereed, he explained, he presented and was the constant in the FINA camp when it came to open water swimming.

The dues he paid and the countless hours that he devoted to the sport were recognized by the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame that recognized Miller as an Honour Administrator in its Class of 2013.

Credited as one of the three people who formulated and pushed forward the current racing format used at the Olympic 10km Marathon Swim (together with Chris Guesdon and Sid Cassidy who are shown on left), his legacy is acknowledged by his peers.

"The IMSHOF extends its hearty congratulations to Dennis on his selection. The Hall of Fame welcomes him into the fold of the truly greats in our sport of marathon swimming," said IMSHOF Honorary Secretary Dale Petranech.

"Dennis is a pillar in the FINA world. There isn't anyone in the world who has attended more world-class FINA open water swimming competitions than Dennis. He is a constant with an encyclopedic knowledge of the history, rules, and operations of competitive open water swimming world," agreed Steven Munatones, Vice President of the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame. "He isn't brash, he isn't egotistical. He just gets the job done administratively. Paperwork, procedures, protocols and reports - those little things that need to get done to put on world-class events in countries around the world - that is where Dennis has excelled. His work has laid the foundation that has allowed marathon swimming to reach its Olympic status."

Miller's fellow inductees in the Class of 2013 include the following luminaries of the sport:

Honour Swimmers include Great Britain's Lewis Pugh and Nick Adams and Australia's Melissa Cunningham.

Ned Denison was the recipient of the Irving Davids-Captain Roger Wheeler Memorial Award.

The Honour Administrator includes American coach Don Watson.

Honour Organisations include the Midmar Mile from South Africa and the Channel Swimming & Piloting Federation from Great Britain.

A Certificate of Merit was issued to the Open Water Swimming Committee of the Indonesian Swimming Federation.

A Pioneer Swimmer recognized by the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame was Rose Pitonof.

ISHOF Finalists included David Yudovin, Mercedes Gleitze, and Dale Petranech.

The names of the honourees, along with 250 other great achievers and outstanding contributors in sport of marathon swimming, will be inscribed on the SEA GODDESS, the official trophy on permanent display at the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

Their formal induction will take place during the annual International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame ceremonies. In 2011, the ceremonies were held in the United Nations Building in New York City. In 2012, the ceremonies were held on the Queen Mary in Long Beach, California.

Copyright © 2012 by World Open Water Swimming Associaiton

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program