DNOWS Header

Image Map

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Mamma Mia Marathoners - IMSHOF In Italian

The International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame (IMSHOF) website is now available in English, Spanish, Portuguese and Italian.

The IMSHOF site will also soon be made available in French, German and Japanese.

The International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame was established in 1961 to recognize the marathon swimmers throughout the world and is governed by an international selection committee of marathon swimming experts.

The Hall of Fame, entirely supported by donations, recognizes not only the world’s most successful swimmers in competitive races, but also individuals for their solo swim exploits around the world. It is a non-profit educational sports hall of fame devoted to marathon swimming and is dedicated to promoting the athletes, coaches, administrators, pilots, reporters, volunteers, organizations, race directors and associations affiliated with marathon swimming. It immortalizes online the achievements and contributions of those who have distinguished themselves in this sport.

But with a growing number of marathon swimmers in non-English-speaking countries, the need to expand to other languages is immediate.

For Italian, visit here. For Spanish, visit here. For Portuguese, visit here.

For the Italian-speaking community, luminaries such as Lello Barbuto (inducted in 1992), Paolo Donaggio (1980), Enrico Tiraboschi (1971) and Giulio Travaglio (1966) are honored in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

For the Portuguese-speaking community, luminaries such as Lello Barbuto (inducted in 1992), Batista Pereira (1971), Igor De Sousa (2004) and Abilio Couto (2001) are honored in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

For the Spanish-speaking community, luminaries from Argentina such as Antonio Abertondo (1964), Alfredo Camarero (1978), Pedro A Candiotti (1965), Silvia Beatríz Dalotto (2005), Diego Degano (1995), Lilian Harrison (1973), Horacio Iglesias (1968), Carlos Larriera (1969), Gustavo Oriozabala (2001) and Claudio Plit (1981), Cuban Jose Cortinas (1967), Peruvian Daniel Eulogio Carpio Massioti “Carpayo” (2005), and Spaniards such as David Meca Medina (2009), Montserrat Tresserras (1970) and Maria Luisa Cabañeros Sanchez de Leon (2009) are honored in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

All interested swimmers, coaches, administrators, officials, volunteers, pilots, crew and fans can participate in the next International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame board meeting that is open to all who participate in, volunteer for, promote, enjoy, officiate the sport.

The board meeting will be held in the Grand Salon conference room on the Queen Mary (see on right) at 6:00 pm on September 21st, the opening day of the 2012 Global Open Water Swimming Conference.

To express interest in participating or attending the 2012 International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame induction ceremonies, visit here or email your interest here.

Copyright © 2012 by Open Water Source

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program