DNOWS Header

Image Map


Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Who Is A Pro Marathon Swimmer?

What swimmers participate in the two established FINA professional marathon swimming circuits: the FINA 10K Marathon Swimming World Cup circuit and the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix circuit where prize money is given and the world's fastest open water swimmers compete?

It is a global mix of athletes, many of which have dreams of representing their country at the 2012 London Olympics 10K Marathon Swim.

On the women's side during the 2010 season, there are 145 athletes from 35 different countries. These professional marathon swimmers include the following individuals:

Argentina: Aldana Martinez, Antonella Bogarin, Cecilia Biagioli, Lara Anido Rodriguez, Marianella Mendoza, Mirna Vago, Noelia Petti, Pliar Geijo, Rita Vanessa Garcia.

Australia: Bonnie Macdonald, Shelly Clark.

Azerbaijan: Anastasia Zhidkova, Inha Kotsur.

Belgium: Manon Lammens.

Brazil: Ana Brena K. Militao, Ana Marcela Cunha, Mariana Mello, Poliana Okimoto.

Canada: Aurelie Cote, Beatrice Pineau, Caitlin Nolan, Gabrielle Trottier, Joanie Guillemette-Simard, Nadine Williams, Ronnica Christie.

China: Cao Shiyue, Fang Yanqiao, Li Hong, Li Xue, Shi Yu, Su Wanlu, Sun Minjie, Zhang Xiaolei, Zheng Qianqian, Zhou Lili, Zhu Yiyun.

Croatia: Anja Trisic, Ivana Sitic, Karla Sitic.

Czech Republic: Hana Novakova, Jana Pechanova.

Denmark: Grith Sigsgaard.

Egypt: Shereen Mansour.

Spain: Esther Nunez Morera, Martha Recio.

France: Celia Barrot, Ophelia Asport

Great Britain: Cassandra Patten.

Germany: Angela Maurer, Annika Traxel, Gina Mohr, Isabell Donath, Mascha Traxel, Nadine Reichert.

Greece: Marianna Lymperta.

Guatemala: Cindy Toscano.

Hong Kong: Chan Ching Man, Cheng Yuen Yue, Tang Wing Yung Natasha.

Indonesia: Annisa Fabiola, Arini Ayuningrias, Ep Annes Siregar.

Italy: Alessandra Romiti, Alice Franco, Camilla Frediani, Fabiana Lamberti, Giulia De Fusco, Laura La Piana, Martina Grimaldi, Nicoletta Simonazzi, Rachele Bruni.

Japan: Asari Wada, Kaori Yamanaka, Yuko Matsuzaki, Yumi Kida.

Mexico:Alejandra Gonzalez Lara, Alejandra Villasenor, Andrea Navarpo, Andrea Perez, Diana Ducoulombier, Jaqueline Saenz, Lily Anzueto Moguel, Lizeth Rueda, Marcela Marroquin Tamez, Melissa Villasenor Reyes, Monserrat Ortuno, Odette Saldivar Massimi, Patricia Castaneda, Zaira Alfano, Zaira Edith Cardenas Hernandez.

Macedonia: Aleksander Ilievski, Aleksander Panceski, Dejan Mladenovski, Evgenij Pop Acev, Evgenji Pop Acev, Marjan Mirceski.

Montenegro: Jalena Dedajic.

Netherland: Irene Van Der Laan, Linsy Heister, Maaike Waaijer.

New Zealand: Alannah Jury.

Paraguay: Tania Sapcznik Sanchez.

Portugal: Daniela Pinto, Lara Pinheiro, Marta Saraiva, Soraia Ribeiro.

Russia: Alexandra Sokolova, Anastasia Krapivina, Angelina Borodina, Anna Guseva, Anna Uvarova, Antonina Faustova, Eka Terina Firstova, Eka Terina Lagunova, Eka Terina Zhdanova, Elizzaveta Gorshkova, Kseniya Popova, Larisa Ilchenko, Maria Bulakhova, Sofia Petrenko, Yulia Safina.

Slovenia: Nika Kozamernik.

Serbia: Bojana Dedic.

Switzerland: Swann Oberson.

Tunisia: Gmach Samar.

Ukraine: Olga Beresnyeva.

USA: Chloe Sutton, Christine Jennings, Emily Brunemann, Emily Hanson, Eva Fabian, Heidi George, Micha Burden Shaw.

Venezuela: Andreina Pinto, Carla Diaz, Florencia Melo.

For the list of male pro swimmers, click here.

Copyright © 2010 by Open Water Source

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you very much for your interest in the world of open water swimming.

The Staff of the World Open Water Swimming Association

A Thank You Gift from WOWSA

WOWSA is celebrating the
1-Year Anniversary of the monthly Open Water Swimming Magazine
by giving you a free copy of the anniversary issue.

Open Water Swimming Magazine Anniversary Issue
File Size: 13MB


Download the file to your computer, and then right-click to extract the magazine which is inside the zip folder. The magazine is in PDF format.

CLICK HERE to download your free copy now.

Open Water Swimming Magazine

Open Water Swimming Magazine

The Open Water Swimming Magazine is the monthly magazine entirely focused on open water swimming heroes and heroines of every age, ability, and background. Published by the World Open Water Swimming Association, the Open Water Swimming Magazine is a free benefit to WOWSA members.

WOWSA Member Benefits include 12 issues of the Open Water Swimming Magazine, the annual 276-page Open Water Swimming Almanac, a free listing in Sponsor My Swim, outstanding product discounts from FINIS, an entry in Openwaterpedia and more...

The Other Shore

The Other Shore follows world record holder and legendary swimmer Diana Nyad as she comes out of a thirty-year retirement to re-attempt an elusive dream: swimming 103 miles non-stop from Cuba to Florida without the use of a shark cage. Her past and present collide in her obsession with a feat that nobody has ever accomplished. At the edge of The Devil’s Triangle, tropical storms, sharks, venomous jellyfish, and one of the strongest ocean currents in the world, all prove to be life-threatening realities. Timothy Wheeler’s documentary brings Diana Nyad’s extraordinary adventure to life as Diana sets out to prove that will and determination are all you need to make the unimaginable possible.

2014 Open Water Swimming Almanac

An Almanac for Open Water Swimming

An almanac is essentially a body of knowledge which is so complete that it enables people in different fields to make predictions about the future of their respective industries.

This, for example, was the purpose of the traditional farmers almanacs. It enabled farmers to determine as accurately as possible which crops to plant for the greatest harvests in a given year.

But the farmers almanac was just one example among many.
There are, of course, many different kinds of almanacs.

In fact, there is even one for open water swimming...

Preview the Open Water Swimming Almanac:

The trends are very clear.
The tide is rising for open water swimming.


Open Water Swimming Event Sanctioning

World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation

Open Water Race Calendar

Coaches Education Program